Board History

Below is information regarding the historical organization of the County, elected offices, districts, and terms, since its creation in 1850 broken up by decades when significant changes occurred. 
  1. 1850s
  2. 1860s
  3. 1870s
  4. 1880-1965
  5. 1965-present


  • Three supervisors elected countywide
  • No districts; one year terms
  • Met as needed


  • County is divided into 3 townships, a supervisor representing each
  • Supervisors not required to live in district they represent


  • Regular meetings on the 1st Monday of February, May, August and November

Photo of former supervisor Jesse Warren Whitton from 1852