Shelter at Home Order

What is the Blueprint for a Safer Economy?

On August 28, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom introduced the Blueprint for a Safer Economy to become effective at 12:01 AM on Monday, August 31, 2020. Every county in California has been assigned to a tier based on two metrics: the number of new cases per 100,000 residents and the testing positivity rate, or percentage of tests that come back positive. At a minimum, counties must remain in a tier for at least three weeks before moving forward. Data is reviewed weekly and tiers are updated every Tuesday. If a county’s metrics worsen for two consecutive weeks, it will be assigned a more restrictive tier.

The four tiers in order of most restrictive to least restrictive are:

Higher Risk → Lower Risk
of Community Disease Transmission
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
Tier 4
New Cases /100,000 population per day
(7-day average; 7-day lag)
Testing% Positivity
(7-day average; 7-day lag)

What tier is Napa County assigned to?

As of Monday, August 31, 2020, Napa County is in Tier 2 “Substantial.” Click on the links below and review the FAQs for more information and resources.

For more information, visit California’s Blueprint for a Safer Economy web page, which includes State Frequently Asked Questions.

For more information on tier and sector guidelines, visit the CDPH Blueprint for a Safer Economy web page.

Information for Businesses

Businesses, working with their city/town chambers of commerce, are being asked to organize themselves by sector and develop Best Management Practices in preparation of future State guidance.