Medi-Cal and Other Medical Assistance

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3


Medi-Cal is health coverage for low-income children and adults. There are two kinds of Medi-Cal, the expanded Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) coverage and classic coverage. Some Medi-Cal programs have a Share of Cost, but most do not. An eligibility worker will explain the difference and help you enroll in the best program for your situation.

You are automatically eligible for Medi-Cal benefits if you receive cash assistance from one of the programs below. A separate Medi-Cal application is not needed.

  • Adoption Assistance Program
  • California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs)
  • Foster Care
  • Kin-GAP
  • Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA)
  • Supplemental Security Income / State Supplemental Program (SSI / SSP)

You can find more information about Medi-Cal, including what benefits are covered, at the California Department of Health Care Services website.

How to Apply for Medi-Cal

Click here to learn more about changes to Medi-Cal.

Annual Renewals

Annual renewals have started again. Don’t lose your Medi-Cal! For more information on annual renewals visit our Keep your Medi-Cal page.

Covered California Plans

Covered California’s insurance plans are for people with income up to 400% of poverty. You can buy insurance plans through the Covered California website. If you apply for Medi-Cal, your eligibility worker will tell you if you (or a family member) is eligible to purchase a Covered California plan.

County Medical Services Program

County Medical Services Program (CMSP) is for certain adults who do not meet the requirements for Medi-Cal or who have to wait for open enrollment to enroll. Your eligibility worker will talk to you about CMSP if you qualify for this program. You can find more information about CMSP at the CMSP website.

Smiling woman with text "I can see a doctor when I need to."