Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
It is up to the caregiver to ensure that he/she is registered. Violation of the Elder and Dependent Adult Protection law is a misdemeanor or infraction, punishable by a fine, imprisonment in the county jail up to one year, or a combination of both.
Show All Answers
A "caregiver" or "home care aide" means any person that provides personal and/or home care services and/or in-home services for profit, compensation or any form of consideration for an elder and/or dependent adult.
If you work in Napa County and provide in home care for compensation (any form of payment including free room and board), you must register unless:
You can register on line by clicking here to log onto the State’s Home Care Aide Registry website.
Elder and dependent adults need to know who is going to be in their homes providing care. Caregivers often have access to personal and financial information and it’s important to be able to provide proof of a clear criminal history.
No, employees of licensed Home Care Organizations should already be registered with the State and therefore are not required to complete a separate registration. Independent contractors affiliated with caregiver placement agencies are required to register.
Family members need to register if they are receiving some sort of compensation in exchange for providing in home care (including free room and board).
You do not need to register in person but you do need to submit, via USPS mail or e-mail, documentation that you are free of active tuberculosis.
To complete the initial registration, the cost is between $94.00 and $110.00. This includes: $35.00 for the State’s application fee and between $59.00-$75.00 for the Livescan fee. The Livescan fee includes the California Department of Justice (DOJ) fee, which is currently $32.00, the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) fee, which is currently $17.00 and the fee the Livescan operator charges, which varies, to process the fingerprints. The Livescan fee is required only one time and the $35.00 application fee is required every two years at the time of renewal.
After you have submitted the electronic application through the State’s Home Care Aide Registry, you have 30 days to get your fingerprints Livescanned. From the date your fingerprints are Livescanned, the process takes approximately 2 weeks.
Check with your regular healthcare provider to determine if you have a test on file. If not, you can make an appointment through your regular health care provider or you can contact the Napa County Public Health Clinic, 2751 Napa Valley Corporate Dr., Bldg.B in Napa and make an appointment for a Tuberculin Skin Test (TST). You must call ahead for an appointment (707) 253-4270, and return for clearance 48-72 hours after the skin test. The fee is currently $25.
It depends. When you initially register, you must submit documentation to prove that you are free of active tuberculosis. At each subsequent renewal (every 2 years), you must undergo a risk assessment screening, to verify that you have not been exposed to TB since your last test. If you pass the screening, you will not need to get another TB test. If you do NOT pass the screening, you will need to be re-tested for TB. Click here to view the California Department of Public Health screening tool that we use.
If a caregiver is unable to register through the State, a Limited Permit may be an option. The limited permit is only good for one person / household and requires the person paying for care to sign a notarized statement accepting liability.
Click here to check the Napa County Registered Caregiver List. If the individual is not listed, contact the Caregiver Coordinator at 707-253-8789 or Adult Protective Services at 707-253-4398 and report your concerns.
All convictions other than minor traffic violations, including misdemeanors, felonies and convictions that occurred a long time ago require an exemption. However, individuals convicted of serious crimes such as robbery, sexual battery, child abuse, elder or dependent adult abuse, rape, arson or kidnapping are not eligible for an exemption. Click here for a complete list of convictions for which the State is prohibited from granting exemptions.
The fingerprint/Live Scan process is completed only once during the initial home care aide registry application process. Once a home care aide has received a criminal record clearance or criminal record exemption, they remain active in the Community Care Licensing Division database for three years. After three years of inactivity, the home care aide would need to submit new fingerprints and pay the associated Livescan fees.
Home care aides must submit fingerprints to both the DOJ and FBI. There is no seven year limit. The criminal history information the Community Care Licensing Division receives includes any criminal history the home care aide may have, including arrests, misdemeanors and felonies.