Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Be sure you want the property before you bid. All sales are final and there are absolutely no refunds. If you default, under California State Law, the county cannot resort to the second highest bidder and will be required to take legal action against you. Failure to consummate the sale within the specified time shall result in the forfeiture of any deposit made and all rights that the purchaser may have had with respect to the property. Failure to consummate the sale will also bar the bidder from participating in future tax sales for five years in Napa County. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
Show All Answers
Bid4Assets is handling the bidder registration process for this sale and complete instructions are available at their website. Napa County requires each bidder to submit, to Bid4Assets, a deposit of $5,000, plus a $35 processing fee, to register for the sale. Bidders are advised to arrange for their deposits early to make sure they are eligible to bid. The Tax Collector's Office will not be registering bidders nor accepting bids. All questions will be directed to Bid4Assets at 877-427-7387.
All parcels are assigned an Auction Identification number. Bidding starts at the minimum bid amount (the amount required to pay off the defaulted taxes and costs) and will increase in increments of at least $100 until the close of the auction. The auction starts at 8 a.m. (PT) on the beginning date, and closes at the stated time for each parcel on the ending date. For a more detailed explanation of the bidding process, log on to their website, click on "For Buyers" at the top of the home page, then click on "How to Bid." You may also bid by fax if you do not have access to the internet. More information and instructions are available by calling Bid4assets customer service at 877-427-7387.
Successful bidders must pay by cashier's check, wire transfer or electronic funds transfer, and payment must be received by 1 p.m. PT, three (3) business days after a subsequent sale closes. In addition to the purchase price, the documentary transfer tax ($0.55 per $500 of the purchase price) is required.
Only a successful bidder has the opportunity to purchase County assets. If the successful bidder defaults, under California State Law, the County cannot resort to the second highest bidder, and will be required to take appropriate legal action against the bidder who defaults. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
No. Legal title to a tax-defaulted property subject to the Tax Collector's power to sell can be obtained only by becoming the successful bidder at the tax auction. Napa County does not sell tax lien certificates at this time. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
While we try to give all possible assistance in helping prospective purchasers to pinpoint a property location, vacant land usually has no street (situs) address. Its approximate geographic location can be determined through the use of county Assessor plat maps and perhaps, a map book. Exact boundary lines of a property can be determined only by a survey of the property initiated at the purchaser's expense. Improved properties frequently (but not always) will bear a situs (street) address. The Assessor's plat maps may be downloaded from the auction website. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
The right to pay the taxes in full to avoid the sale of the property ceases at the close of business, 5 p.m., on the last business day prior to the sale. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
No expressed or implied warranty is given with respect to the parcels, and they are sold on an "as is" basis. Bidders are responsible for knowing what they are purchasing. Consult the zoning department of any city within which a property lies or the zoning section of the county Permit and Resource Management Department for parcels located in the unincorporated areas (i.e. not lying within a city boundary) regarding use of the parcel. Examine the county records for any recorded easements on a property. You can also order a title search report from a local title insurance company. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
The successful bidder may generally take possession after making payment in full, complying with any conditions set forth between the tax collector and the successful bidder, and after the tax deed to purchase the property has been recorded. Successful purchasers should contact their attorney for information regarding possession. Most title companies will not insure title on properties sold at public auction for at least one (1) year after the tax deed has been recorded. Legal action to challenge a tax sale must be commenced within one (1) year of the tax recording date. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
Chapter 7, Section 3712 of the California Revenue and Taxation Code States: The deed conveys title to the purchaser free of all encumbrances of any kind existing before the sale, except:
A title search initiated at the prospective purchaser’s expense should reveal any liens or encumbrances on a property in the tax sale. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
State law dictates that the minimum price for a tax-defaulted parcel offered at a public auction for the first time shall be no less than the total amount necessary to redeem plus costs. The minimum bid on a parcel may be set at a greater amount at the Tax Collector's discretion. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
Yes. State law dictates that notice of a tax sale must be published once a week for three successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation. A list of available properties will be published in the Napa Valley Register three times, once weekly. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
No, the county does not handle the foreclosure or the eviction process. The property is sold "as is" and buyers assume all ownership responsibilities. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
Most title companies will not insure title for one year after the recording of the tax deed. Quiet Title action may be needed. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.
Generally, Sections 177 and 3725 et sequentes of the California Revenue and Taxation Code limit the time to commence an action to one year from the recording of the tax deed. For more information, contact us at 707-253-4314.