What Groundwater Basins are located in Napa County?

As part of SGMA, DWR recognizes 5 groundwater basins and subbasins in Napa County. Here is the list of the basins and subbasins, along with the priority that DWR gave to each basin: 

  • Napa-Sonoma Valley - Napa Valley Subbasin – high priority
  • Napa-Sonoma Valley -Napa-Sonoma Lowlands Subbasin – very low priority
  • Pope Valley Basin – very low priority
  • Berryessa Valley Basin – very low priority
  • Suisun-Fairfield Valley Basin – low priority  

High and medium priority basins are subject to a variety of rules and regulations under SGMA. Low and very low priority basins are not required to take any action at this time. Learn more about requirements for each priority level here.

Show All Answers

1. What is Sustainable Groundwater Management?
2. What are undesirable results in the context of SGMA?
3. What Groundwater Basins are located in Napa County?
4. Why is the Napa Valley Subbasin subject to Sustainable Groundwater Management Act?
5. Why aren’t the hillsides included? Aren’t they important too?
6. What about the MST and Carneros, why aren’t they included? How will we know what’s going on in those areas/subbasins that are already having problems?
7. Return to the Groundwater FAQ page